HERE LIES TEN MINUTES OF MY TIME.
current | archive | contact | profile | notes | diaryland

______________________________________
8:56 p.m. 2010-03-09
______________________________________

Overused metaphor rolling in.

For the first time since I�ve been here, the weather looks insidious. Summer lightning is lighting up low grey night clouds, and the city�s pollution and low level street lighting make the entire thing seem staged. It is dark, but not the real dark, the wind is blowing and pushing the palm trees around, but they aren�t quite real trees, and the air is doing more than groaning as it pushes through the streets.
I hate it when I feel like I might be on the edge of a real life metaphor. I don�t like the thought of the storm gathering at my door on the one million percent real level and also on the level of what you read in the papers. And I don�t know that I am. Living in a metaphor makes it that much harder to understand.
Ego is certainly at play here, but I do think I�ve set up a life where the macro and the micro intersect in me. If the sky opens up over me, I will get wet. The sky where I am has a history of opening up. And the latest weather reports are certainly threatening.

previous | next | archive