HERE LIES TEN MINUTES OF MY TIME.
current | archive | contact | profile | notes | diaryland

______________________________________
1:00 a.m. 2006-09-18
______________________________________

8 Gigs of that jerk Steve

Story of Now.

Step 1. OK, what�s the worst thing that could happen to you? Parents dying? Mad Cow? That indiscrete tape getting passed around your church group? Well, if I know my readers, they have the creativity to come up with some image much worse than anything that I will have the courage or taste to mention here.
Step 2. Now imagine that somebody just told you that that horrible thing just happened to them. Wait, not just somebody� somebody that you know about and feel generally good towards. Your friend takes you by the hand and says �I feel terrible, I just found out that my mind is going to degenerate because of Mad Cow (or what ever terrible thing that you came up with).�
Step 3. At this point you should be thinking �what kind of sick twisted thought experiment is Matt taking me on here? There better be one heck of a pay off��
Well, there isn�t much of one. Now, I want you to imagine this person instead of saying that horrible thing just happened to them, they instead say �My hard drive just died and all my files are not recoverable. I have no back up.�
Step 4. Introspection. Are you surprised by how close your reaction to these two things is? Of course, it isn�t going to be the same. An emptied hard drive isn�t the worst thing that can happen to anybody. But it happened to me. And I�ve mentioned it to people. And I�ve been really surprised by some of the reactions. I�ve sensed shared pain that is wayyyy closer to a very public break up than I would have thought. As a matter of fact, on the scale of sympathetic reactions I would say that �my hard drive is gone� gets a roughly equal response to �and now she is sleeping with my cubical-mate.�
But don�t worry people. Pack Rat Matt still has a computer that can run word, and a pen drive that has most of the very very mostest important documents.
Really, I�m fine with it. I�ve already moved on. I hope my burnt out hard drive and that jerk Steven make each other very happy. They totally disserve each other.

previous | next | archive